
Frequently Asked Questions



1. You have been charged with a Civil Traffic Violation in Coventry, who can I call with questions?
Contact the Coventry Municipal Court at 401-822-9187

2. How can I pay my ticket?
You may pay by mail or in person. We accept cash, check or money order.  A payment lockbox is available outside the Municipal Court Office.  The address is;
Coventry Municipal Court
1670 Flat River Road
Coventry, RI 02816
[bookmark: _GoBack]Monday-Friday 9:30-2:30
Friday-By Appointment Only
*We only accept cash or money order if your Summons is past due
	
3. Can I pay my ticket online or over the phone?
No, those options are not available in Coventry

4. Can I pay using a credit or debit card?
No, that option is not available in Coventry

5. What happens if I do not appear for my court date or fail to pay my ticket by the court date?
A failure to appear in court or pay fines by the court date will result in additional court costs of $35.  Additionally, it may result in the suspension of your license.  

6. What if I have a Good Driving Record?
If you have a “Good Driving Record” you may request that your summons be dismissed.  The total cost is $60. You must appear in Court to request this procedure.  “Good Driving Record” means no moving violations within the three years prior to the current violation.  Certain restrictions apply.  If you are an out of state motorist you must bring a certified copy of your driving record from your State to Court.  
Click here for the Good Driving Statue			


7. What is the cost if I appear in court and the judge finds me guilty? 
The cost would be the fine on your summons, plus $35 in Court costs. 

8. What if I am unable to pay my fines and court costs?
If you are unable to pay, a payment plan may be established if you are in Court.  Failure to pay these costs may result in the suspension of your license. 

9. What if I want a Trial?
Your first appearance in Court (Arraignment) is to state your plea or request a Trial.  If you plead not guilty to the violation, the Judge will set a date for a pre-trial and/or trial. 

10. What if I want to appeal my judgment?
You have the right to appeal any judgment of the Coventry Municipal Court to the Appeals Panel at the Rhode Island Traffic Tribunal (RITT).  You must file a Notice of Appeal within 10 days of notice of the decision.  The fee for the appeal is $25 plus any technology surcharge, made payable to the Rhode Island Traffic Tribunal.  This form must be filed at the RITT.
Click here for the Appeals Form





